Robert Oppelt and Differences in German Bow Hold

I recently discovered a very useful site by Robert Oppelt in which he documents 11 variations of the German Bow-hold.  This amount of variance in right-hand posture is pretty remarkable to me, and something I didn’t know very much about since I play with the ‘French’ bow hold.  To me, getting a nice bow hold was a relatively straightforward process with the French bow, however only when I had to start teaching German bow, did I encounter some of the idiosyncrasies of that particular bow hold.  One factor, which I had never really noticed was the amount of difference in size of German bow frogs and how that related to the player’s hand.  For the most part, I just look for what is most relaxed, free, and comfortable, but on some occasions I felt like the student was equipped with size 12 shoes to run a race when he/she only had size 8 feet.    For those German bow players reading this post feel free to chime in with any comments.  What are some effective teaching strategies you have used for beginners with German bow?

http://www.robertoppelt.com/page8.html

About tunedin4ths

David Ballam Doctoral Student at the University of Texas at Austin Doublebass Instructor: UT String Project & Round Rock School District BLOG: https://tunedin4ths.wordpress.com/ WEB: https://ballam.musicteachershelper.com
This entry was posted in Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

