Internet Radio- what’s this all about?

Sometimes I find myself tuning to a different radio station in my car (other than the local classical station) simply to give my mind a break from all the practicing and performing that I do day-in and day-out.  Unfortunately, I sometimes find myself analyzing the classical piece on the radio, or criticizing the interpretation and just need something else to listen to on the radio.  Most of the time I’m on the AM-Dial listening to Talk Radio (shudder!)  For three summers in college I held a job where I drove a delivery truck for a national chain car parts store.   With all those hours and miles on the road I had to switch channels and listen to different things, otherwise it became very boring!!

Well, one thing I recently discovered within the past few months was Internet Radio.  Now this may sound strange, but you can actually listen to radio online through your computer.  All you need is your web browser.  Some of my favorite sites are (just to name a few):

http://www.last.fm

http://www.pandora.com

At these Internet Radio sites it’s possible to create your own playlists and radio stations.  For example, you just need to input your favorite composer, style, genre and the site will just start playing music.  Last FM features pictures of the composer and both sites display which disc the recording came from.  The listening (streaming) quality is actually quite good!

To close, if you also have iTunes, that program also features some streaming Internet Radio stations as well.  Go check it out!

About tunedin4ths

David Ballam Doctoral Student at the University of Texas at Austin Doublebass Instructor: UT String Project & Round Rock School District BLOG: https://tunedin4ths.wordpress.com/ WEB: https://ballam.musicteachershelper.com
This entry was posted in Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

